Updating my music collection recently I was struck by the number of song titles referring to “heart”

For example:

Anyone who had a heart – Dionne Warwick

My heart will go on – Celine Dion

Heavy on my heart – Anastacia

Listen to your heart – DHT

I know you by heart – Eva Cassidy

Confessions of a broken heart – Lindsay Lohan

Aint Gonna Let you break my heart again – Loiuse Setara

Unbreak my heart – Toni Braxton

When the heart-ache ends – Rob Thomas

You’re in my heart – Rod Stewart

Wooden heart – Elvis Presley

Restless heart – Starsailor

The damage in your heart – Weezer

DAVID GRAY’s SONG “My,  Oh My” contains the following lyric:

What on earth is going on in my heart
Has it turned as cold as stone
It takes a lotta love
It takes a lotta love these days
To keep your heart from freezing
To keep your spirit free

For me, Christianity is all about HEART ISSUES – not external, but internal. The formal, lifeless institutionalised form of Christianity, so prevalent in the West, is NOT that which was experienced by the Early Church.  Theirs was a vital, life-filled, relationship with the Risen Christ, whom they experienced as living in their hearts by faith, and by manifestation of the Spirit.

“Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring if life” says the proverb. That’s where life starts.

TO GUARD is keep watch over, to take care of, to protect from danger/attack, to take precautions.

We protect our loved ones – our possessions – our-selves (reputations, mind & body) – even our time, but do we ABOVE ALL ELSE protect our heart –  or, prioritise the defence of the heart.

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God”, words spoken by Jesus, encouraging those who

want to see God at work in their life, in their circumstances, to develop clean hearts.

I came across this powerful prayer, by Pastor Jack Hayford, that you may wish to make your own:

“Lord God, Creator of all, Maker of my heart …

I bring my heart to You this day for softening…

… like a child’s, softened to forgive quickly, easily, without judgment, prejudice, bitterness, or resentment;

… like a field, softened to receive seeds of Your truth, that the fruit of Your Holy Spirit might be produced through my life;

… like clay, softened, that I might be shaped today more completely into the man or the woman You want me to become.

Flow the rivers of Your life over my heart, and bring it to renewal, O Lord.

And where my heart is hardened simply by the heat of duty, the weariness of work, the attack of enemies, the slings and arrows of the inconsiderate or crude … at those points, give me a vision of Your heart today, Lord.

Through Christ, our Lord, Amen.”


