For one so young…

Tragedy struck at my neighbour’s today –

a widow with a phobia of birds

A knock on my door and there she stood

Almost too fearful for words

~~~~

“Will you please help” – her plaintive request

“A bird’s become stuck on my feeder”

So gallant knight sprang on trusty steed,

forthwith to seek to relieve her

~~~~

‘Twas not only stuck, ’twas dead, the poor thing

Trapped by its feet in cold steel

Young blue-tit, I fear, just couldn’t get clear

And died after fight to be free

~~~~

The widow stood by – all in an alarm

As I gently laid blue-tit to rest

The small compost heap behind garage wall

was the place that I chose, that seemed best

~~~~

Then back to the feeder – with wire made safe

for any more birds that came by.

Little damsel soothed from a major distress

And me left just wondering – ‘why?’

