An auto-biographical sketch in verse….

Born in December 1951

Farm-house my maternity home

Parents, Bill & Mary, great devotion in their hearts

Prepared well for my welcome

~~~~~

Sickly child, from 4 years old

With various ailments tried

Hospitals frequent visits made

But took it all in stride

~~~~~

Witnessed then the power of God

Parents, pastors prayed

Even though in years ahead

From path of right I strayed

~~~~~

Early teens chose my own way

It brought a lot of tears

Hurting folk who loved me so

As words came out like spears

~~~~~

Middle teens a change profound

within my soul took place

Met the Lord, His love came in

And saved me from disgrace

~~~~~

Hunger rose within my heart

To know the Saviour more

Sought His face, read His Word

He thrilled me to the core

~~~~~

Spirit-filled at Scarborough camp

Spoke new tongues of joy

From that time a passion grew

To be in His employ

~~~~~

Father’s loss a savage blow

When only seventeen

Changed my course, found a job

Knuckled down to routine

~~~~~

Twenty one – my big break

Bible College came to me…

8 miles from my home,

Day student I could be

~~~~~

Wife I met in that old place

A mutual passion shared

To reach the lost with Jesus love

To show how much He cared

~~~~~

For many years we’ve laboured on

And tried to give our best

Our passion grows to make Him known

and give Him all the rest

