MARK records, concerning Jesus: “Rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, he departed and went out to a desolate place and there he prayed.”

Pressing through the dominance

of natural inclination

When creature comforts wrap around

And lull me back to sleep

I shake myself and rise again

So to meet with You

~~~~

Pushing through the darkness

of my fallen human nature

Disinclined to follow but

for overtures of grace

I stir myself and come again

So to meet with You

~~~~

Passing o’er the dreariness

of inward, desolate spaces

Facing the reality of what

I have become

Still I shake myself and make my way

Just to meet with You

~~~~

Pulling from the maddening crowd

clamouring for attention

Distractions by the score to

move beyond

Still I stir myself and run away

Just to meet with You

