A skirmish with my German dentist

~~~

Without a shade of warning worked loose the other day,

a non-convenient moment, old crown refused to stay

in place where it belonged screwed tight into my gum.

The prospect of dental work made me rather glum.

~~~~

Thought super glue and poly-grip may just have done the trick,

but after many failed attempts the crown refused to stick.

And so with great reluctance an appointment I did make

with Felix, my German dentist, and time-out I did take.

~~~~

He took one look & shook his head, “There’s nothing I can do

With this old crown, as you can see, the threads gone on the screw.

A new crown must be fitted,  ’twill take a month or two

I’ll patch up this one temporarily And hope you make it through.”

~~~~

An hour in his surgery passed ’twas measured & prepared.

For me it was an ordeal,  of drills & such I’m scared !

But finally all work is done, new gleaming crown in socket

And now the only pain I feel is the large hole in my pocket.

~~~

