https://stpetersbentley.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/since-1896-square-200x200.png

ST PETER’S CHURCH, Bentley

I’ll be in church on Sunday NOT because I have it all sorted, or feel better than anyone else, BUT precisely because I screw up badly and frequently, need an abundance of mercy and grace, and appreciate journeying with those in the same boat (we call it fellow-ship)

I’ll be in church on Sunday NOT as a pastor/leader or in order to parade any ‘gifts’ God may have given me, BUT simply as a faltering human being trying to make a little sense of himself, this crazy world and an unfathomable God

I’ll be in church on Sunday NOT to wallow in my own circumstances, or draw off attention to myself, BUT to transcend my personal bubble, and engage with both the universal and the eternal – it’s not about me !

I’ll be in church on Sunday NOT because I HAVE to be, from some imagined legalistic obligation, BUT because I WANT to be, in a rather pathetic attempt to worship the One who is utterly and eternally committed to me

I’ll be in church on Sunday NOT because I am a super holy person, or have enormous spiritual stature, BUT in order to acknowledge my weakness, and to identify with folk who lean, unashamedly, on Everlasting Arms

If that makes any difference to you, perhaps you’d care to join me – it would be great to have you walking alongside

